Sons of the American Revolution, Ohio Society Activities

Compatriot Steve Kelley Receives OHSSAR Samuel Hubbard Scott Award


Samuel Hubbard Scott Award Recipient Steven R. Kelley

At the 127th Annual Ohio Society SAR Awards Banquet on April 30th, 2016, Compatriot Steve Kelley was awarded the Samuel Hubbard Scott Medal.  Kelley, President of the Ohio Society SAR from 2012 – 2013 and current President of the General Henry Knox Chapter of Mt. Vernon, Ohio, was selected for this award by compatriots who have received the award in the past.  The most recent recipient of the award is the chairman of the committee to select the new awardee, and all other living recipients are automatically members of the selection committee.

Samuel Hubbard Scott, compatriot from Toledo, Ohio, an exemplar of those qualities we seek in an outstanding compatriot, is the individual who was behind the Samuel Hubbard Scott Award. It is the highest and most prestigious award the Ohio Society, alone, can give to an Ohio Compatriot. This special award was created at the 1979 Ohio Conference in Columbus, Ohio, and was awarded for the first time at the 1979 Conference in Cleveland.

Well deserved Steve!


Samuel Hubbard Scott Award Recipients (LtoR): Rev. James O. Fast; Wm. Anthony “Tony” Robinson; John H. Franklin, Jr.; Steven R. Kelley; Roger P. Jones; Tim Ward; and Larry R. Perkins


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: