Sons of the American Revolution, Ohio Society Activities

Historic 125th Annual Meeting – Cambridge


Pictured above (l-r) Ted Minier, Larry Cornwell, Lindsey Brock, Lance Carter, George Ruch.

The 125th Annual Meeting of the Ohio Society Sons of the American Revolution was held at Salt Fork State Lodge outside Cambridge.  Ohio Society President George Ruch officiated at the meetings on May 2-3-4, 2014.

Officers and members from the 22 Ohio Chapters attended the meeting to elected new officers and affirm 18 by-law changes.

On Friday afternoon, Larry Cornwell, Genealogist General provided a Hands-on Presentation on recruiting and assisting potential members identify their family lines and completing the SAR application.

On Saturday night, Lindsey Cook Brock current national Secretary General made greetings and Highlighted the espionage rings during the American Revolution.

The Schoenbrunn Valley Barbershop Chorus provide a rousing set of patriotic tunes.  The Chorus invited Society President Ruch to join them on stage to harmonize on the familiar “Bill Grogan’s Goat.”


During the breaks, members shared their family history and genealogies. A fun surprise was that Dan and Bob Haas of John Hancock Chapter were introduced to Rick Hartinger of Camp Charlotte who have patriots that were brothers making them all cousins!


There were many awards during the evening.  The highest honor of the Ohio Society is the Samuel Hubbard Scott Laureate Award.  The 2014 winner is Bob Parvin of the Samuel Huntington Chapter  in Northeast Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Parvin are pictured in period clothing.


Sunday Morning after the Service of Remembrance, led by State Chaplain David Foster, the 2014-2015 Officers  were given their oath of office by Vice President General lance Carter.  The new President for 2014-2015 is Ted Minier.


Pictured front row (l-r) -Rev. David Foster 2nd VP, James Shaffer 1st VP, Ted Minear President, Lance Carter of WV. VP General, Steve Frash of secretary, George Ruch National Trustee. Back row (R-L)- James E Dunn Historian, James Fast, Chaplain, Steve Hinson Treasure, Lindsey Cook Brock National Secretary General NSSAR, Richard Fetzer Genealogist, Troy Bailey registrar, Wm. Anthony Robinson Director at Large. Congratulations to all.


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: